38 Super or .45 ACP

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by BCD 45, Feb 14, 2019.

1. BCD 45

BCD 45 Well-Known Member

Feb 13, 2019
    Hello ya'll.

Well, I'm in the "Beginners Corner" for sure with only my 1st post since the introduction. I mentioned in my intro that I'm 67 and have had lots of guns but I'm brand new to 1911's for only a month now.

The 2 1911's that I have purchased are both 9mm's. My 3rd I'd like to be a different caliber, 38 Super or .45 and I want a 4" or 4.25" barrel with a full size grip. You said for dummies to ask away questions so here I am.

Which caliber do you like/prefer? How well does a 1911 38 Super run as far as reliability goes in the said barrel lengths? I've shot .45's but have never pulled the trigger on a 38 Super. Can the Super be compared to a +P+ 9mm or a 357 Sig in another type weapon?

Thanks for any input or opinions, I appreciate it very much. BTW, I'm going to have to put a limit on my next purchase at $2500 or less.

Jim D

2. 41 Charlie

41 Charlie Get off my lawn...

Feb 4, 2014
    I’m in the 38 Super camp. Great caliber, but best to be a reloader. Factory Ammo can be pricey, and sometimes difficult to find locally. However... 38 Super is a reloaders dream. From mild to wild, the option is yours. Very flat shooting, with the umph to get the deal done. Welcome to the forum, and best of luck with your choice!

Last edited: Feb 15, 2019
    Fred_G, gps man, joepilot and 2 others like this.

3. Sneaky One

Sneaky One Well-Known Member

Aug 14, 2016
    This ^^^^^^^^^^^ Welcome to the forum

41 Charlie and Dwe like this.
  4. Dwe

Dwe I'm a terminal 1911 Addict!

Sep 4, 2011
    I also love the 38 Superb however as
    @41 Charlie explained, its availability lends itself to a reloader. If you don’t reload I would tell you to go 45.

mikegalway and 41 Charlie like this.
  5. Sneaky One

Sneaky One Well-Known Member

Aug 14, 2016