1911 Firearm Addicts banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2,451 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
@zrozulu asked this in the general firearms section.

LGS has an unfired Browning on consignment for 899. First is that a good price? And second, what should I look for in one? Thanks.

I see this come up a lot here and other places. So I thought I would share some of my limited knowledge on the BHP with the forum. I hope this helps someone looking to purchase one or learn more about them. I am not a BHP expert by any means but I own over 12 currently and another 5-7+ have come in and out of the collection over the years. I love to shoot them and love the history and the story behind the gun. Many attribute the design to JMB which is only partially true. He did design a gun based on Saive's 13 round double stack mag but it is not the gun we shoot today. This is JMBs last pistol patent. It was known as the Grand Rendement.

Dieudonné Saive who was the lead designer at FN Herstal, designer of the FN FAL, refined and completed the pistol we call the Grande Puissance, Browning High Power, Browning Hi Power, P35 etc... after JMB died. IMHO it is more Saive than Browning but that is a discussion for another thread. FN named the pistol after Browning out of respect for JMB who they referred to as "le Maitre”, The Master and because of the huge marketing power the JMB named had at the time. Some people incorrectly list Saive as JMBs assistant at FN Herstal but this was not the case. JMB was not a FN Herstal employee he was a contractor.