Anyone using ZERO bullets in their Baers with WIN 231???

Discussion in 'Caliber Talk: Ammunition, Reloading, and Shooting ' started by Bugs, Nov 26, 2011.

1. Bugs

Bugs Well-Known Member

Oct 19, 2011
    Anyone getting good accuracy out of ZERO 230 FMJ with WIN 231?? If so what is your load?

2. Rinspeed

Rinspeed Member

Aug 22, 2011
    I have been using Zero 230 Gr FMJ for several years now but mostly with Unique. I do use 231 for light .38s but just haven't gotten around to using it for loading .45s, don't ask me why.

3. GeorgiaRedfish

GeorgiaRedfish Well-Known Member

Aug 19, 2011
    ..................................why?

i'm a rebel:biggrin1:

4. Joe C

Joe C Custom Pistolsmith Sponsor

Sep 11, 2011
    Eh, 231 is too dirty for my tastes. I personally prefer CLAYS or VVN310. Get pretty good accuracy out of those loads. Not quite as good as with the Sierra, but hey, the Zero is a bit less expensive than the Sierra...

5. Bugs

Bugs Well-Known Member

Oct 19, 2011
    Joe C: I use 231 because I still have lots of it. It is somewhat dirty but meters well. How do the Clays & VVN310 meter? What have you used as a powder charge with them? I have come up with some loads using 231 that are pretty good in the accuracy dept. with my other 1911's but have not dialed in the Baer yet using this powder. Perhaps time for experimentation with a different powder.

Rinspeed: Found the Unique to burn quite dirty & it did not meter well for me; liked the unique for shooting lead in revolvers; FMJ in autos not so much.

Last edited: Nov 30, 2011
  6. 3Baers

3Baers 1911 oldie

Oct 9, 2011
    I use Missouri Bullet Company 200grn LSWC Bullseye #1's in my Baer's using W231.