AR-10 vs M14 for DMR

Discussion in 'Rifles & Shotguns' started by B81, Feb 28, 2019.

Tags:
  1. B81

B81 Well-Known Member

Aug 12, 2018
    I'm doing something that I shouldn't be doing, and that is looking at "precision" semi-auto rifles that could be loosely classified as a DMR rifle.

In regards to caliber choice, my understanding is that shooting 5.56 out to 600 yards is certainly doable. However, 5.56 is more likely to get pushed by the wind, and it's effectiveness for anything other than paper punching is questionable at 500+ yards. My understanding is that the Army reintroduced the M14, which fires 7.62, early on in the war in Afghanistan because insurgent forces knew this and would strike from 500+ yards (and then bug out before air support or artillery could respond). For those of you who were there, I welcome any insights you might have into this story.

I'm not fighting insurgents in Afghanistan. I'm just a hobbyist that is looking to attend some Known Distance (KD) Appleseed shoots and maybe try my hand at a local NRA High-Power match. Even though my adversaries are made of paper (and occasionally steel), I'm starting to wonder if I'm better off adopting 308 win for anything outside of 300 yards, as bullet drop is easier to predict than wind drift.

In the world of semi-auto 308 win, I have a number of options: FN SCAR, FN FAL, AK-47, AR-10, M14 and their respective derivatives. At this point, it looks like either the AR-10 or M14 are the two most common platforms used to build budget friendly DMR inspired semi-auto rifles. (If you have money to burn, the FN SCAR is obviously another option to seriously consider.) By budget friendly I mean a rifle under $2000 (sans optic).

So, I put it to you experts, both real and self appointed, to help me to understand the trade offs between the AR-10 and M14/M1A platforms. Bonus points awarded to those who can speak from actual experience with both platforms.

Thanks in advance.