1911 Firearm Addicts banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any consensus ...on the barrel life for a well made match grade barrel....from Wilson, Guncrafter, etc....in terms of round count ..../ shooting all RN FMJ ammo... / so the gun will still hold its 1" group at 25 yds...

Especially curious from experienced gunsmiths...on what they have seen...

·
Custom Pistolsmith
3,463 Posts
I have been using Kart barrels almost exclusively for the past 12 years for a good reason. When properly fit they just work. Bore condition, in my experience, depends on the type of bullets shot. I've seen .45 barrels shot strictly with lead got 250k without any real wear. I've also seen 9mm/.38super barrels with as little as 45k jacketed barrels with an inch of erosion. It also seems to depend to some degree on powder used. Some powders seem to cause more erosion than others.

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I shoot Montana Gold jacketed bullets exclusively thru my guns... and Hodgdon TiteGroup which is a fairly fast powder.../ you think that has any impact...good or bad...

Do mfg's like Wilson, GunCrafter, etc ....warrant the barrels ...or if they are shot out - the customer has to pay to replace.. ??

·
Registered
2,665 Posts
Titegroup is known as a "hot" powder, or more so than most.
I use it as well due to economy and ACCURACY in my 9mm loads. I see signs of leade erosion at 25K rds. through one of the barrels (all are Kart).
I shoot Zero JHP's exclusively.
I expect to replace barrels sooner than if I were running 231/n320/WSF as example.

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Ok guys, thanks for the input.

Yes, I understand Titegroup is #15 on powder burn rate chart ....but it drops very consistently, has a wide application for a number of calibers and gives me consistent performance from 9mm to .44 mag / so I use a lot of it .....& I'll keep using it.

·
Registered
2,665 Posts