Buying my first Nighthawk.

Discussion in 'Nighthawk Custom' started by BigT_Franklin, Feb 12, 2017.

If you had to pick....?

1. GRP Recon

5 vote(s)
    55.6%
  2. Enforcer Recon

4 vote(s)
    44.4%
  1. BigT_Franklin

BigT_Franklin Awesome Member

Feb 2, 2017
    After debating between Wilson and Nighthawk, I have decided that my first and perfect 1911 is going to be a Nighthawk. That being said, I am having a hard time deciding between the GRP Recon or the Enforcer Recon. I am fairly new to the 1911 game, but not to the gun world. Lol.

I am a cop, with the plan that this pistol to be my every day duty weapon. I am a firearms instructor, SWAT, blah, blah, blah and have ran MORE than my fair share of Glocks, Berettas, wheel guns and a various assortment of other pistols in about every condition and scenario, but always find myself drawn back to the 1911. My current duty weapon is a Glock 17, but it just doesn't "fit me right." A light rail is a MUST HAVE but haven't made up my mind on any other options or upgrades that I may want to include in my perfect pistol. I am even having a hard time deciding between .45 or 9mm. Leaning towards 9mm though..... Cosmetics aren't as important to me, as this gun will see its fair share of use and abuse, but am thinking that a naked slide would fit my taste a little more than the engraving. Any advise, experience, input, etc. would greatly be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Jimhoag and salelcid like this.
  2. WWB

WWB Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator Supporting Addict

Apr 11, 2015
    Of those 2 the Enforcer Recon. But I personally would buy a Shadowhawk or Warhawk.. But you cant go wrong with a NH of any flavor IMO.. I would buy a NH over a Wilson 9 out of 10 times. If your going to use it a lot and carry it a lot I personally would go with a 45 as they are generally more reliable in a full size 1911 then a 9MM. Especially once they are good and dirty..

3. Bender

Bender Supporting Addict Supporting Addict