1911 Firearm Addicts banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Title says it all,
I am a newbie with 1911, so this might be obvious, but I could not find an exact answer.

I saw @RatBikeRod offloading the Kimber form his collection, as he is moving to .38 Super [1]
From that I am assumed that this not an easy conversion (perhaps, because the barrel does not have bushing)
But wanted to check here to be sure

For the context:
I am looking for something that I can buy (at entry level) that has aluminum alloy frame (for carry) in commander size (or shorter) that can be easily converted to .38 super.

I am familiar with DW Guardian, but that's quite an expense and they are made in small quantities.

[1] SOLD - Kimber Pro Carry II Stainless 9mm

·
Premium Member
21,928 Posts
Qualification: You're a newbie.

Answer a very good gunsmith can do this for you. But you probably want some kind of adjustable sight. The pistol may not shoot both calibers to the same point of aim.

When I get off my dead ass, I'll be adding a 38 super barrel to my 9mm Ronin.

·
Good/Fast/Cheap
4,387 Posts
Have the current barrel reamed, ejector and extractor, and get some 38 super mags. Many good smiths here could help you out. Of course, I’d suggest having the barrel re-marked for the appropriate caliber. This solution only works if you have no desire to shoot 9mm out of it and want to convert super cheap. The better option is to have a second barrel fit.

·
You Don’t Know Me!
1,895 Posts
Title says it all,
I am a newbie with 1911, so this might be obvious, but I could not find an exact answer.

I saw @RatBikeRod offloading the Kimber form his collection, as he is moving to .38 Super [1]
From that I am assumed that this not an easy conversion (perhaps, because the barrel does not have bushing)
But wanted to check here to be sure

For the context: