Cerakote Black experiences?

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by The Mulberrian, Mar 10, 2019.

1. The Mulberrian

The Mulberrian Well-Known Member

Feb 7, 2019
    Im looking for a good matte black Cerakote color.
    Ive never used it, and there are several colors of Black in their offerings (Oven Baked Only).

Im looking @ the "Blackout" as opposed to the "Graphite Black" they offer.
    BLACKOUT:
    View attachment 236205
    I have a lot of experience with Duracoat but it seems Cerakote is now cheaper & Ive always wanted to try it (I have a 4' oven:D).

Only interested in "Black".

Any experience?

2. tarosean

tarosean Well-Known Member

Apr 7, 2013
    My experience is cerakote sucks for pistols. I have two that are SS underneath and they shed their coating when even sitting near a holster. Both are factory jobs.
    I have several cerakoted rifles with no issues though.

3. limbkiller

limbkiller Pulling my hair. Supporting Addict

Aug 18, 2011
    Cerakote is a great finish but has to be applied properly. Chuck and Lou are masters at it.

azpoolguy, WWB and 41 Charlie like this.
  4. The Mulberrian

Feb 7, 2019
    Im just a hobbiest bro...
    I just want to try it (Cerakote) & not waste money on a black color I dont like.

Duracoat has been good to me, but getting expensive.
    I was skocked how well Duracoat has held up for me.
    I did a guys Stevens bolt action 22-250 3 years ago with black & stainless steel Duracoat.
    Pretty tight tolerence & it has held up extremely well (I bake my Duracoat).
    It had black marks on the bolt, but you can take a rag & wipe em right off (its just oil on the surface).
    He lives to hunt, & has put it through its paces these last 3 years.

0503171601a.jpg
    0503171738a.jpg
    0508171610a.jpg
    0607171407d.jpg

Last edited: Mar 10, 2019
  5. Greg Derr

Greg Derr Custom Pistolsmith Supporting Addict Sponsor

Oct 3, 2011