1911 Firearm Addicts banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm totally new to the .45 and now I own a brand new Gold Cup Trophy. Is it difficult to change the grips ? Is there anything i should know beforehand ?

Thanks in advance for your support !

·
Premium Member
26,205 Posts
Just get a PROPER fitting bit for the screw,........

·
Bullet Banger
2,202 Posts
Easy as putting on a new pair of shoes. Remove the two screws. Then pop off. I usually put my finger through the magazine well and pop It off from the inside. Helps if the grip is a really tight fit.

·
Never made it to step 12
1,182 Posts
Just get a PROPER fitting bit for the screw,........
Proper fitting tools are the most important thing, it seems. You can sure bugger up a nice gun using the wrong tools.

·
Registered
835 Posts
Good advice above.

Also keep in mind that grips are sold in both standard and slim thickness. If yours came with standard grips, your pistol will most likely have standard length grip screw bushings, slim grips will not fit without changing the bushings.

Also if you have an ambi-safety where the right side is held in place by the right grip, make sure the replacements are cut for the ambi-safety too.

·
Premium Member
216 Posts
Proper fitting tools are the most important thing, it seems. You can sure bugger up a nice gun using the wrong tools.
I swapped out Torx grip screws for GI slotted. Took an old stubby flat blade screwdriver and ground it down so that it would fit the slot properly and not mar the grip. Then I covered the blade tip with Plasti-Dip. Overkill, but I was bored and I like using my Dremel tool.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I ordered mine from Wickedgrips and told Ed what my model is...he took care of sending me the proper screws...I'll keep you posted as soon as they arrive...

·
BIG OL' BALD HAID !
3,291 Posts