Change grips

Discussion in '1911 Gunsmithing' started by Norules, Dec 6, 2011.

1. Norules

Norules New Member

Dec 1, 2011
    I'm totally new to the .45 and now I own a brand new Gold Cup Trophy. Is it difficult to change the grips ? Is there anything i should know beforehand ?

Thanks in advance for your support !

2. Bender

Bender Supporting Addict Supporting Addict

Aug 15, 2011
    Just get a PROPER fitting bit for the screw,........

3. Wheezy

Wheezy Bullet Banger Supporting Addict

Aug 31, 2011
    Easy as putting on a new pair of shoes. Remove the two screws. Then pop off. I usually put my finger through the magazine well and pop It off from the inside. Helps if the grip is a really tight fit.

4. Norules

Norules New Member

Dec 1, 2011
    Great, nice trick the one based on pushing them from the inside !

Thank you!

:thumb:

5. dilespla

dilespla Never made it to step 12 Supporting Addict

Oct 12, 2011
    Proper fitting tools are the most important thing, it seems. You can sure bugger up a nice gun using the wrong tools.

6. CMG

CMG Member

Aug 20, 2011
    Good advice above.

Also keep in mind that grips are sold in both standard and slim thickness. If yours came with standard grips, your pistol will most likely have standard length grip screw bushings, slim grips will not fit without changing the bushings.

Also if you have an ambi-safety where the right side is held in place by the right grip, make sure the replacements are cut for the ambi-safety too.

7. E39

E39 Supporting Addict Supporting Addict

Oct 15, 2011
    I swapped out Torx grip screws for GI slotted. Took an old stubby flat blade screwdriver and ground it down so that it would fit the slot properly and not mar the grip. Then I covered the blade tip with Plasti-Dip. Overkill, but I was bored and I like using my Dremel tool.

8. too_pure

too_pure Employed

Nov 9, 2011
    Be prepared for the bushings to be a real b!tch to get out, if your going thin and need to replace them.