1911 Firearm Addicts banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello - I just registered on this forum after learning about it on a different forum where I've been learning about other handguns for quite a few years now. Personally, I don't collect guns of any kind; I just own what I can (and do) carry concealed for self defense. Through the years I've owned and sold Colt revolvers - including an Anaconda which I used for deer hunting as well as numerous Glocks, S&Ws, Kahrs, Rugers, and the occasional KelTec, SCCY and even a Diamondback 9mm.

I was directed here because I'm helping a buddy determine how much his Colt 1911 might be worth. He inherited it from his father, who probably bought it in the 70s. It's still in the original plastic wrapping and box with all the paperwork of the time. I believe the last time it was touched by human hands was at the factory.

For what it's worth, I suggested he should try to establish a baseline value and then list it on one of the gun auction sites. He's in no hurry and not in need for cash, so he can do this the 'right way'.

I appreciate any input you can provide. I'll try to attach a photo.
Brown Material property Plastic Paper product Packing materials

·
Every day is Saturday and every night's a party!
7,829 Posts
$1200-$1500 depending on the market you're selling in.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Alright, I understand the sentiment to keep it, but I don't think my buddy every developed any emotional attachment to it. His dad apparently liked to purchase guns and store them. When he died, each of the kids got a gun or two. Not sure if his brothers or sisters kept their guns.