Commander 2011 Frame

Discussion in '1911 Gunsmithing' started by azpoolguy, Apr 26, 2019.

1. azpoolguy

azpoolguy Well-Known Member

Jul 4, 2013
    I’m just beginning to learn about 2011s. My current carry gun is a G19 with an RMR. I love the extra capacity for training classes and drills that require 12-15 rounds as most training classes these days seem to be gear toward poly pistol owners. However my first true love is the 1911.

I would like to build a double stack commander now that companies like Nighthawk and Chambers have worked out the RMR mount for a 1911 slide.

Are most companies using a Government length slide and cutting it back to commander length and running a bull barrel or is there a commander length 2011 frame available that I’m just not finding available online?

Is there a shorter frame available as well for carry that would use a mag in the 15 round size?

2. ChuckC

ChuckC Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Feb 2, 2016
    JEM was supposed to working on a commander 2011 frame for release around last May. I am not sure if they ever posted them on their site however.

As for a 120mm grip with a magwell someone smarter than me will have to chime in.

azpoolguy likes this.

3. wrmiller

wrmiller The Tinker

Oct 29, 2016
    I've not seen any commander length 2011 frames, but that doesn't mean anything.

Jem lists a 'tri-low' but I don't know what that is. Maybe they will machine one for you?

I've put something like this on my 'to-do' list. I'll start with a 5" monolith slide on a wide frame, cut everything to length, make (or buy) a commander length reverse plug and run a bull or coned barrel. Maybe put HP cuts on the front if I get adventurous.

The idea has potential.

FWoo45 and azpoolguy like this.
  4. Ethank

Ethank Well-Known Member

Mar 8, 2017
  5. azpoolguy

Jul 4, 2013
    wrmiller likes this.
  6. Descartian

Descartian Well-Known Member

Apr 13, 2017