Compact Carry Frame; Steel vs Aluminum

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by SteveT, Feb 27, 2019.

1. SteveT

SteveT Member

Feb 22, 2019
    Hi guys,

This subject has been beat to death, I'm sure, but I'm going to ask anyway. Delete the post if you want. LOL.

I'm trying to decide on a couple of things. Frame material and rail. I'm looking at 3 different guns, Wilson X-Tac Elite, Protector, and Ultralight Carry. All in Compact models, all in .45. I have others in 9mm, so this one will be .45. I have zero experience in .38 Super. I do reload, so maybe I could be convinced to get one.

Major differences between them are frame material and the rail on the Protector.

The gun will be a carry gun, not a range toy.

Does the steel frame of the compact model lower recoil enough that it should be considered when purchasing the gun? If I ever have to use it, God forbid, I doubt I will notice the recoil, but is it enough to make me not want to take it to the range and shoot it? I plan on carrying it OWB on a good belt, so the 10oz in weight I don't think I'm considering in this decision.

Do you need a rail on a carry gun? This will not be a nightstand gun. But I always think of gear like better to have it and not need it, then to need it and not have it. Is it something you would get even if you don't plan on using it right at this moment?

So those are my two questions. Give me some opinions and experience on what you guys think on decision making?

Thanks,
    Steve

2. AZ Husker

AZ Husker Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Oct 14, 2017
    The rail will greatly decrease your holster options. I prefer steel, probably just because that's what I've always had. The weight is not a carry issue for me. But it does make a difference in recoil.

Old Sea Dragon, gps man and BigJimP like this.

3. SteveT

SteveT Member

Feb 22, 2019