1911 Firearm Addicts banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I’m a complete beginner not only to the 1911 world but also to the firearms world. I come from California and have had experience(limited) shooting .22 rifles and black powder muzzleloaders, which are fun!

I'm a history guy before a gun enthusiast. I'd like to get into firearms with a combination of something else I enjoy, that's why I'm only looking at GI configurations of a classic icon of Americana.
What I’m looking for is something that holds a great deal of accuracy to the 1917 model used throughout WW1, yet, I am definitely willing to compromise on historical purity, for the purposes of not being able to get everything I want in my budget, something around the ballpark of $1k more or less. My main concerns for what I'm looking for consists of a few things:
-a long trigger
-flat mainspring housing
-Blued finish
-5” barrel

In my search for an authentic looking 1911 with these features, I’ve found a model that makes some compromises that I'm willing to make, since it carries many of the features I do want the most. Which is the Colt 1991 Series model.

Now there are definitely some features that this model has that are obviously not true to original 1917 models, such as the cutouts in the frame behind the trigger, and the longer grip safety spur (to prevent hammer bite), and of course the firing pin block. Out of these three discrepancies, the one thing I actually like a lot, and embrace, is the longer grip spur.