Doing the Finish (blueing, CCH etc.) of the frame & slide on a self build.

Discussion in '1911 Gunsmithing' started by TheCollector, Dec 9, 2018.

1. TheCollector

TheCollector Well-Known Member

Aug 25, 2018
    I'm contemplating doing my own self build (as many others here have done) I have a pretty simple question about doing the finish on it.
    Is it best to do all parts fitting to the frame & slide assemblies and then strip those two items completely down when sending out for the chosen finish? ie: sights, plunger tube, ejector.

Any input, advice &/or suggestions are welcomed.

2. ZoidMeister

ZoidMeister Consider my signature line before replying . . . .

Dec 4, 2014

3. 1911mechanik

1911mechanik Christ is my front sight.

Apr 29, 2016
    Ok, I'm a home builder myself and have built 7 so far. So I am no pro and don't present myself as such. However, it has been my experience to get the gun as you want it functionally then proceed to sanding, polishing or blasting then bluing the frame, slide and parts. If nothing else just handling the gun while working on it often creates small issues that need to be addressed in finish prep. Also if you fit a new grip safety, checker the frame, etc that will require work to cleanup and get ready for final finish. Hope this helps. Perhaps one of the pros will come along and clear it all up. Good luck!

4. gaijin

gaijin Well-Known Member

May 18, 2015
    Prep, fit and complete the build, then finish.

5. lsbbigdog

lsbbigdog Smiffin' ain't easy Sponsor

Aug 21, 2011
    The finish should be the last step.

6. Colorado Sonny

Colorado Sonny Deo Volente Supporting Addict

Sep 25, 2015
    If you want CCH, high polish blue and fire blued screws go with Bobby Tyler at Tyler Gun Works. Bobby can do your CCH at lower temperatures.

https://tylergunworks.com/

Please give us a bunch of before, during and after pictures! :grin::grin::grin:

Good luck with your build!

Last edited: Dec 9, 2018