Drop in barrel, yes or no? 10MM to .40.

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by Steve Page, Apr 8, 2019.

1. Steve Page

Steve Page New Member

Apr 8, 2019
    I'm not new to 1911s but I am new to working on them.

I recently became the proud owner of a Kimber 10mm 1911. I've shot 1911's for years but have never modified one at all so I don't know a lot about that aspect of 1911's.

Because of ammo costs and other reasons I'm interested in setting it up for.40 Cal ammo. I've read it's an easy thing to do because depending on what you read it's either just a barrel or a barrel and a spring.

That's a long way of getting to my questions.

Is there such a thing as a good drop in barrel? If there is what brands should I look at?
    Is fitting a barrel as difficult as some people say?

Thanks for the help.

2. Greg45acp

Greg45acp Double Secret Banned Supporting Addict

Oct 31, 2016
    How well a drop-in barrel will work depends just as much on how "in spec" the gun is.

I have no idea how closely a Kimber sticks to the blueprints. You should probably order it from Brownells since they are so easy to deal with in regards to returns.

wrmiller and Steve Page like this.

3. Steve Page

Steve Page New Member

Apr 8, 2019
    That makes sense. I was surprised to read that a barrel even needs to be fitted if the gun is made to spec.

4. Greg45acp

Oct 31, 2016
    Each one is a different beast. Even the same brand can vary quite a bit.

Steve Page and wrmiller like this.
  5. hks1911

hks1911 Well-Known Member

Oct 7, 2018
    You do need to re-spring the gun as well. I think the last one I saw used a 14lb recoil.

Steve Page likes this.
  6. Slapshot

Slapshot Well-Known Member

Sep 6, 2017
    I once asked the same question about 38 super and 9mm and was told NO and not to try it because it could be bad by a very well respected smith on the forum. I would think the same would apply here.

Babboonbobo and Steve Page like this.
  7. wrmiller

wrmiller The Tinker