Favorite combat sights

Discussion in 'General 1911 talk' started by ajstrider, Feb 16, 2012.

Tags:
  1. ajstrider

ajstrider Active Member

Sep 15, 2011
    I have been pondering new sights for some of my handguns, I am going to try to find a better sight combination for my defense guns. I have a set of 10-8 sights on one of my Glock's and I really like it except for one thing, the front night sight doesn't have a white outline at all. I have thought about painting the front sight, but I have never done that before and would like some input on that. I like a wide notch rear sight, plain black, my 10-8's has the .156" notch. If you have any other recommendations, please comment and tell why or why not you like a certain set of sights.

2. Quack

Quack it's mmm, mmm good... Staff Member Admin

Aug 15, 2011
    10-8 rear and XS 24-7 front.

3. Haraise

Haraise A=A

Dec 10, 2011
    Large or small XS?

4. Quack

Quack it's mmm, mmm good... Staff Member Admin

Aug 15, 2011
    Regular dot.
    I prefer Dawson FO sights though.

5. Haraise

Haraise A=A

Dec 10, 2011
    Not the truglo though? Tritium, FO. Would have thought it more popular for people who like both.

6. John Ryder

John Ryder Well-Known Member

Aug 19, 2011
  7. wichaka

wichaka Member

Sep 8, 2011
    I prefer a night sight on the front only, nothing to draw your eye to the rear...or something that needs to be aligned, more than a notch.

I paint the front sight around the glow tube. It helps with picking it up when there's too much light for the tube to glow, but not enough to see solid black.

whitesight.jpg

8. Eric

Eric Cav Troopers Dad

Sep 10, 2011
    I run this combination, small dot XS, on 3 fullsize 1911's, 1 Commander and a Glock 26. I find that my bifocals work real well with the small dot XS sight. Even my engraved pistol has the small xs sight with a Novak rear. Besides the 10-8 I also like the wide notch Novak plain black.

9. Sir Guy

Sir Guy Sharpening Ockham's Razor Supporting Addict