Grip panels loosen?

Discussion in 'General 1911 talk' started by CampWolf, May 22, 2019.

Tags:
  1. CampWolf

CampWolf Member

Jan 19, 2019
    I discovered a few days ago my edc RIA grip panels on one side were loose. I’ve never heard of that and while I’m relatively new to owning a 1911, it really surprised me. It was nothing to tighten the screws back up but has anyone here experiences that before? Even my local gun store had t heard of that.
    They’re all tight now but it was surprising. Any thoughts?

2. remanaz

remanaz Active Member

Apr 14, 2019
    It is very common on 1911s. Especially ones that have g10 grips. O-rings will help to prevent that from happening again.

DWdude, richiecotite and Howe45acp like this.

3. Babboonbobo

Babboonbobo Avatar is back to my favorite things!

Nov 18, 2014
    Challis bushings and o-rings fix the problem. Common issue on 1911s for sure.

azpoolguy and Howe45acp like this.
  4. FarmD0G

FarmD0G Member

Mar 7, 2019
    They never heard of that happening? You need to start going to a different gun store...

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

5. Raylan Givens

Raylan Givens Never Forget

Aug 18, 2015
    Either Challis or #60 O rings

Usp45ct likes this.
  6. CampWolf

CampWolf Member

Jan 19, 2019
    Thank you

7. CampWolf

CampWolf Member

Jan 19, 2019

They are a very small store. You’re probably right as I had to order my 1911 and two of the employees had never held one before.

duketbrd88 likes this.
  8. Kevin Rohrer

Kevin Rohrer Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Jul 6, 2014
    I had that problem until I stopped lubing the threads. Now, no problem.

joerockhead likes this.
  9. duketbrd88

duketbrd88 Well-Known Member

Sep 1, 2011
    Just google it , you will see how common it is. O rings like everyone else said.

10. CampWolf

CampWolf Member

Jan 19, 2019
    I see that now. Feel like a complete idiot ...

11. Old Sea Dragon

Old Sea Dragon Well-Known Member

Feb 10, 2018