1911 Firearm Addicts banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been working on my Ed Brown trigger for over 4 hours today trying to determine why I am getting hammer follow to the half cock notch.

I have been doing trigger work on 1911's for over 20 years and never had this problem . The darn thing would even follow when I had the trigger pull at 4.75 pounds! I am working to get a 3.25 pound trigger.

I am loading a dummy round off a mag when NOT holding the trigger down, releasing the slide, and the hammer drops to half cock. When holding the trigger down and releasing the slide the hammer does NOT fall.

I checked my sear to hammer hook engagement with the ink on the sear and using the hammer/sear engagement tool, couldn't be better. I adjusted the sear spring. I used two different triggers, thought the longer trigger was the problem.

So I put this project aside and let things rest. Later I assembled the gun without the grip safety and looked at things and noticed how close the left leg was dragging on the frame. Did a few tests as before and had the follow. Then I moved the sear spring over to the right and away from the frame, NOT one follow with the spring off to the right.

My question, since this is the very first time I encountered this problem:

What should I do to fix this? And is this a common problem or just a fluke? Pistol is a 3 weeks old Ed Brown Special Forces, that shoots extremely well.

Thanks for any input and advice.
sparx

Attachments

·
Registered
821 Posts
Was this the original spring or a replacement?

Do you have a spare or a spring from another gun to put in the gun?

Stoning the left side of the sear spring leg to provide clearance isn't cheating!

Before starting any trigger job I always have spare sears and springs on hand, cheap insurance!