1911 Firearm Addicts banner

Hello From Connecticut!

2K views 39 replies 27 participants last post by  KS95B40 
#1 ·
Good Morning Addicts!
My Name is Chris and I am A US Navy Veteran and served on The USS Nassau LHA4 "Top Gator", "The Big Nasty" and "Never A Set Schedule Always Underway". I completed 2 successful Deployments. The first was a Mediterranean Booze Cruise, and the Second Deploymnet was A fully loaded War ship with a Strike Group and we were the Flag Ship, with a full flight deck and well deck. She carried around 1200 Sailors and 2300 Marines. Our deployment started in Haiti helping out with the EarthQuake relief in Jan 2010. We spent the majority of our 7 month deployment off the coast of Yemen in The Gulf of Aden Running Air Strikes on targeted terrorist several nights a week. I worked as a Machinist Mate in the Hydraulics Division, we Maintained, Repaired and Operated both Aircract Elevators, Aft Steering, all Cargo Weapons Elevators and all of the Balast and De-ballasting Operations.
Moving on, I started shooting rifles and smaller pistols when i was about 10 years old and went on my first whitetail hunt in 1999. I always enjoyed going to the range on the marine base to shoot while in the Military, so recently I just obtained my PP and have really taken a strong interest in the hobby of shooting and trying to learn more about the actual engineering parts of the weapon, which Brings me to the 1911! what a awesome piece of craftsmanship! I do not own a 1911 yet and I still really dont know what I like and dislike enough to go out and invest good Money into a nice 1911 (I was already thinking DW Gaurdian) but we'll see how it plays out. looking forward to learning from all you 1911 Addicts, and getting to know everyone as well!

Respectfully,
Chris

See less See more
#6 ·