1911 Firearm Addicts banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the group. I've been a glock owner for quite awhile but now I am looking to get my first 1911 and I am on a budget. This is going to be nothing more than a range gun and an intro into the platform. I was looking at the RIA tac ultra and the Kimber Custom LW. I have heard Kimbers have gone downhill a little but I have no experience in them. Looking for any input and advice on the 2 or any other options around the 650 700 mark. Thanks .

·
You Don’t Know Me!
1,798 Posts
New to the group. I've been a glock owner for quite awhile but now I am looking to get my first 1911 and I am on a budget. This is going to be nothing more than a range gun and an intro into the platform. I was looking at the RIA tac ultra and the Kimber Custom LW. I have heard Kimbers have gone downhill a little but I have no experience in them. Looking for any input and advice on the 2 or any other options around the 650 700 mark. Thanks .
If you can get a deal on an older Kimber (Series 70) then that, otherwise I would consider an RIA Mil-Spec for your first. In my mind everyone should start with a Mil-Spec 1911 but that is just me.

RIA has a good reputation and can be a good base gun, especially in a Mil-Spec.

Or you could look for a good deal on a Springfield.

For your first 1911 I would also suggest sticking to a bushing barrel gun, not a bull barrel.

Good luck and welcome to the addiction!

·
Registered
1,847 Posts
I was in the same boat as your in, I've carried Glock for years "work" after retiring I decided I wanted to give the 1911 a try , I wanted good but but inexpensive,

Springfield mil-spec was my choice, it has replaced my Glock as my daily cc .

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #6