How much trouble am I asking for?

Discussion in '1911 Gunsmithing' started by ZoidMeister, May 27, 2019.

1. ZoidMeister

ZoidMeister Consider my signature line before replying . . . .

Dec 4, 2014
    Gents,

I've never worked on revolvers before other than changing out grips. I have been thinking of picking up a target hammer for the S&W Model 19-3 I picked up earlier this year and changing out the stock hammer.

Is this fairly straightforward or will I be beating my head against the wall before I finish?

Your sage advice is eternally appreciated.

@Joni Lynn ?

Z

2. mikegalway

mikegalway CEO of DILLIGAF industries Supporting Addict

Feb 23, 2014
    Easy . Many videos on youtube . I recommend Jerry Miculek's .

boatdoc, Slapshot, FWoo45 and 3 others like this.

3. SparkyAZ

SparkyAZ It is a dry heat, right... Supporting Addict

Sep 11, 2012
    Just make very sure that you purchase a target hammer of the same vintage. S&W made a K frame target hammer in quite a few different variations...

FWoo45 likes this.
  4. HooDoo Man

HooDoo Man Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Dec 26, 2017
    You really what to mess with the Mod 19? Is there something you don't like about the hammer now?

5. rmac

rmac Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Jan 26, 2016
    Zoid, at the shoot on Saturday I'll remove the side plate on one of mine and show you what to watch out for. The double action sear may need a bit of fitting. Better that you see in person.
    Later, Ron

cgff, livinthelife, wrmiller and 2 others like this.
  6. ZoidMeister

Dec 4, 2014
    The Model 19 I picked up has the wide target trigger but has the standard width hammer. It seems unbalanced.

That would be awesome. The 19 I have was born in 1973. It has an insanely light trigger, both single and double action.

Single action break is about 2.0 lbs. Double action is right at 6.0 lbs.

cgff, gps man and rmac like this.
  7. SLAM37

SLAM37 Well-Known Member

Apr 17, 2016