I got a "new" thing.... in .308!

Discussion in 'Rifles & Shotguns' started by gladeparkflyer, Dec 30, 2011.

1. gladeparkflyer

gladeparkflyer New Member

Nov 27, 2011
    sorry bout the pic quality, i'm a carpenter, not a photographer. heirloom from my stepdad and i know NOTHING about
    savage, their history or reputation. it's stamped model 99F and the scope is another mystery to me. No manufacterer names and near the eye piece its stamped
    V9-1 USA. Haven't had a chance to shoot it yet but i'm goin tomorrow!
    I'd love to have some input on this rifle, call it a fault, but i like to know a little about what i'm shooting. :) I'll try for some better pics later if anybodys interested.

Attached Files:

2. limbkiller

limbkiller Pulling my hair. Supporting Addict

Aug 18, 2011
    What a wonderful gun. I have one in .308 I inherited from my dad. Savage started making these guns sometime in the 20s. The .300 savage and the new 250-3000 were the main calibers at the time. Was made in others after that. Not appreciated much out west but a fav for years in the Northeast as the gun packs easy and fits in the hand great. Don't sell it as they are getting harder to find in good condition. The scope with the V tells me it might be a weaver but I could be wrong. Anyway great gun.

3. gladeparkflyer

Nov 27, 2011
    thanks man. I've always liked leverguns. its just easier for me to stay on target than it is with a bolt gun. And never fear, selling guns isn't a problem for me. I just don't, i tend to form long term relationships with stuff like guns, cars, tools.. :)
    Tom was a kid in the early 50s and i know this was his only deer rifle, just not sure exactly when he got it. i guess the only way to really know the guns age is its serial# huh? If they started making them in the 20s, this is a potential antique which is ok, my model Ts body was built in the 20s and i still drive that. ;)

4. R0CKETMAN

R0CKETMAN NRA member Supporting Addict

Dec 24, 2011