Individual First Aid Kit recommendations

Discussion in 'Gear Talk' started by B81, Apr 17, 2020.

1. B81

B81 Well-Known Member

Aug 12, 2018
    Do we have any medics (or those with medical knowledge) here that can recommend a good Individual First Aid Kit (IFAK) that covers gunshot wounds as well as common back-country injuries (cuts and scrapes, sprains and breaks, burns, stings, etc).

I've got a wilderness first aid kit that I've been lugging around since about 2000. It's been with me to just about every major mountain range in North America. A couple days ago it dawned on me that perhaps some of the contents have expired. Ha! Most of what's in there expired about a decade ago. :rolleyes:

Anyway, in addition to replenishing my old kit, I should also probably be carrying some kind of trauma kit that covers gun shot wounds and the like.

Are there any IFAKs out there that are worth being on my top 10 list of options? What are you guys carrying in your bag or on your belt?

Last edited: Apr 17, 2020
    Mike Meints likes this.
  2. zChambers

zChambers ........... Supporting Addict

Jan 21, 2015
    Blue Force Gear has some pretty decent kits. Just need to add bandaids and whatnot for booboos. North American Rescue also has decent pre-made packs.

I use a modified Blue Force Gear Micro Trauma Kit when on the job. Sometimes in conjunction with a modified standard issue IFAK.