Ion Bond treatment (barrel) questions

Discussion in 'General 1911 talk' started by Renegade4006, Jan 26, 2019.

1. Renegade4006

Renegade4006 Well-Known Member

Feb 18, 2018
    A pistol was recently listed in the classifieds and one of the options the owner had performed on the unit was an ion bond treatment on the barrel.

I did a search yesterday to try to find info on this treatment. Found some data but still have some questions.

Is the Ion Bond treatment more for cosmetic appeal or does it offer any performance advantages over leaving a barrel in its original stainless steel finish??

Thanks

PewPewPtwang likes this.
  2. Coolsound

Coolsound Well-Known Member

Aug 17, 2018
    I have a Volkmann Combat Carry with ion bond barrel. After a few hundreds rounds, there is no sign of wear at all.

cwoods likes this.

3. Badabing11

Badabing11 I gotta have more cowbell

Sep 6, 2015
    I also have a Volkmann with ionbond treatment albeit not on the barrel. It is the most resistant finish I have found as far as wear and rust is concerned.

Some guys Ionbond every part internal on the gun as well as external. I love the stuff and if I had my choice, would have nothing but ionbond if I could.

I made a move last night that would have put a nice idiot scratch on another finish. Nothing, nada, no scratch... I couldn't believe it.

4. Sneaky One

Sneaky One Well-Known Member

Aug 14, 2016
    My Guncrafter has a ion bond barrel. No signs of wear at around 500 rounds

5. WC145

WC145 Every day is Saturday and every night's a party!

Jan 1, 2013
    Except for the springs every part of this gun was finished in Ionbond DLC, including the three barrels. When this pic was taken that barrel had over 3000 rounds through it.
    [​IMG]

6. Sneaky One

Sneaky One Well-Known Member

Aug 14, 2016
    Wow, great to hear

7. MSGT2511

MSGT2511 Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

May 14, 2016