Killing Power.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by limbkiller, Jan 6, 2012.

1. limbkiller

limbkiller Pulling my hair. Supporting Addict

Aug 18, 2011
    Ok how many of you have actually killed something out there in the real world? I'm talking anything from mice, birds to bears, elk, deer or even a human. I'm new to the internet world and have read and seen a ton of posts on the subject. Most are wrong or flawed. The squierrel killed by a .45 was the straw that broke the proverbial straw. I loved it a .45 was used and a good shot was made for sure so it has nothing to do with him. This is not bragging on my part as I should have way more trophys on the wall than I do, but I have killed at least 175 deer sized animals or more. I have guided or been around at least twice that many. I guess what I'm saying is the .45 is ok as a defense weapon because I can't carry a.220 swift. That rodent would have been blown into little peices if it had been hit with .220. 22-250, or a .204. Most of the deer I have shot 65% or so ran 30-100 yds. after a killing shot was delivered. The .45 has proven itself in combat I know and is what I pack. 1,000 lbs of energy is considered the minimum that should be used to kill a deer at any range and the .45 isn't even close to that at the muzzle. I sure don't want to be shot with a .45 or the lowly .22 for that matter. I just wonder what you guys think a .45 is gonna do. Most likely kill ya I know but I have seen some weird things and some animals that were shot multiple times with guns way more powerful than a .45 before they expired. Hydostatic shock is something I believe in big time and is why I pack a .270 with 130 gr. soft points. The .45 has limited shock compared to that. I have lots of bullets including a .45 dug out of animals. All pistol rds are marginal defense rds as far as my personal experience has shown. But then ANY GUN GOOD SHOOT"EM GOOD.

2. Bender

Bender Supporting Addict Supporting Addict

Aug 15, 2011