1911 Firearm Addicts banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Read Only
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all...I’m new to 1911’s and this site so please bear with me...I’ve searched “Tutorials” and can’t find information on how to install a Cylinder and Slide light sear spring. Does anyone have a link? Is this something that a novice can accomplish without special training and tools? Thanks!

·
Consider my signature line before replying . . . .
14,799 Posts
Just put it in . . . .

Its way easier to get it to seat properly if you remove the thumb and grip safeties.

Don't ask me how I know . . .

·
14,799 Posts
However, if you just swap out the spring, you might only get #1.0 or #1.5 of improvement.

There is a lot of other things that make up the total trigger pull weight . . .

Don't ask me how I know . . . .

Reactions: Mike A

·
What me worry ?
12,504 Posts
Welcome from the coast of South Carolina.
STOP !
As a novice you DO need training and special tools to do a proper and SAFE trigger job .
Imho , all parts involved in the ignition system are dependent on each other and must be addressed by stoning proper sear and hammer angles , stoning trigger track and polishing disco and all other parts involved.
Throwing a sear spring in without it being adjusted can lead to
Hammer drop to half cock or accidental discharge.
Take it easy and learn from the knowledgeable folks here.
Good luck sir .

Organism Snout Tooth Snapshot Toy

·
Registered
265 Posts
Hello all...I’m new to 1911’s and this site so please bear with me...I’ve searched “Tutorials” and can’t find information on how to install a Cylinder and Slide light sear spring. Does anyone have a link? Is this something that a novice can accomplish without special training and tools? Thanks!
Welcome to the Forum Oz!