Light Recoil 9mm

Discussion in 'Caliber Talk: Ammunition, Reloading, and Shooting ' started by razorbacker, Apr 27, 2019.

1. razorbacker

razorbacker Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Dec 2, 2011
    Going to transition a young teenager from .22 to some 9mm in the near future. Any recommendations for the mildest factory target ammo in 9mm. I have no experience with poly but understand there are some mild offerings in some of the poly ammo. Recommendations?

2. Lou1

Lou1 Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Sep 1, 2018
    I don’t know which might be the mildest but I think you should be ok with any basic 9mm ammo. Over the last 30 years I’ve had first time shooters from pre-teen to early 60’s do just fine with Winchester and UMC 115g ammo.

41 Charlie and Old Sea Dragon like this.

3. BCD 45

BCD 45 Well-Known Member

Feb 13, 2019
    I'd start out with Federal American Eagle 115 grain. Whatever I started with would be 115's. The only problem with 115's is unless the spring on your gun has seen quite a few rounds, say 800-1000 rounds, the 115's might not have enough power to cycle real reliably. From what little I've shot it, I don't really see a difference in poly or fmj except poly leaves poly shavings in some guns for you to have to clean out. GL,

BCD 45

4. mikegalway

mikegalway CEO of DILLIGAF industries Supporting Addict

Feb 23, 2014
    I'd use 115 grn. ammo in a heavy gun like a 5 inch all steel 1911 .

41 Charlie, unclebuck5, Dub and 2 others like this.
  5. BigJimP

BigJimP Well-Known Member

Mar 12, 2018
    I reload all my ammo, so I can't give you a specific brand based on my own experience, only based on what I hear ....but check the ammo boxes ...and in general I would suggest a lighter bullet ( 115gr in 9mm )... and if the box gives you velocity, pick the ammo with the lowest velocity.