Looking for USGI 1911

Discussion in 'Collector's Corner' started by Bzamora, Mar 10, 2012.

1. Bzamora

Bzamora New Member

Mar 10, 2012
    Hi everyone,

Does anybody have a lead on places to look for genuine GI .45 autos? I'm looking for a Remington Rand or Ithaca, original condition. I've been hitting the local fun show for the past several months, but they have nothing but junk. I'm also really nervous about Gunbroker. Any reputable dealers who engage in the business of buying and selling them? Thanks!

2. Bzamora

Bzamora New Member

Mar 10, 2012
    Well, with a bit of searching I found a few (way overpriced) shops that often have them (Simpson and Collector's Firearms), but I'd really like to know who else exists. Anybody?

3. CanIhaveGasCash

CanIhaveGasCash Member

Sep 11, 2011
    look for a reputable dealer on gunbroker.

4. DAT85

DAT85 BIG OL' BALD HAID ! Supporting Addict

Aug 26, 2011

First off.......:welcometo:

If your looking for a GENUINE WWII 1911.get your wallet loaded up and ready to go.

The 2 shops you listed are companies which get a lot of product,but are not cheap.If you REALLY want to get a G.I 1911,be prepared to pay.
    I would suggest hitting the gun shows in your area before buying sight unseen off of the 'net for a collectors grade G.I issue 1911.

And,these are guns that require the buyer to have some knowledge of what they are buying.Provenance is a must.Papers to prove the gun is what the seller says it is,is a must.

Lots of fakes out there and I personally don't know of any other specific sites to refer you to other than the ones you listed.

Take your time and be patient when you search.

DAT85

5. Bzamora

Bzamora New Member

Mar 10, 2012