1911 Firearm Addicts banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all. I am somewhat new to 1911s and of course brand new to this forum. I am wanting to purchase a commander size 1911 and am really only interested in what brand is thought to be the most reliable. I'm not concerned with the most accurate just the most reliable. Accuracy doesn't mean a thing if when you pull the trigger it doesn't go bang. I know many answers will be opinions but any facts you can share to support your opinions would be greatly appreciated. I am considering a 1911 for EDC and while I have never carried it I currently own a Kimber Ultra Carry II. After reading some of the posts on this site I'm a little reluctant to bet my life on my Kimber. If you could please only respond with opinions and answers directly related to 1911s that would be great. If you feel there is no 1911 available reliable enough to bet your life on by all means feel free to share your thoughts.

On a slightly different note, I also own a SA Loaded full size and wonder if anyone knows how I can make the safety a little less hard to turn off. I like the fact that it is going to be pretty hard for the safety to be accidentally turned off but it does take what I feel is too much force to turn it off and it actually hurts your thumb when doing so. The safety on the Kimber works as I would suspect one should. Any thoughts on this would also be appreciated.

Thanks,
A Newbie

·
Deo Volente
8,401 Posts

·
born in the wrong century
8,959 Posts
If reliability was the primary goal with a new gun that cost a bit north of $1,000......I'd recommend the Colt WC Commander SS & WC Government......or any of the current Combat Elite series.

I'm not a Colt fanboy....nor a Colt hater....just someone who respects their reliability. To date, every new 4.25" & 5" Colt I've broken in did so in a rather boring way.....it functioned flawlessly. No drama....no aggravations.

·
Registered
14 Posts