1911 Firearm Addicts banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at a Colt SXE LW commander in 9mm. New at a LGS. Only thing wrong that I can find is pushing down on barrel hood there is a considerable amount of downward movement. I have zero experience with this type of problem. I'm really wanting this gun but don't know if this is one I should walk away from? If I'm correct this movement while in battery is poor barrel to slide fit ? I want the gun for mostly a range toy and occasional carry piece. I posted this same question on the other 1911 forum as well as here because I know not everybody follows both and I'm really needing as much advise as I can get on this one. The store also has a 9mm all steel commander in blue and the barrel doesn't move when pushing down on it. I'd rather have the LW model but not if it means an immediate trip back to Colt for repairs.

·
Registered
4,872 Posts
I have no good advice. But I agree with the above post's. I had an sr1911 that has so much downward movement that it not only was felt but seen with the naked eye. I thought this was the norm with production guns.

David

·
Registered
2,280 Posts
Probably mentioned this on another forum and although mine I got several months ago is great, Colt is no longer making that model, so it comes down to do you really want it and is the price good. If so you may want to buy it then send it back to Colt and have them fix the problem. Picture time on mine with grips I got off the Colt website back when they sold them on their website. The fit and finish on mine is very nice by the way.

·
Registered
7,010 Posts