Nighthawk Enforcer Review by Garand Thumb

Discussion in 'General 1911 talk' started by B81, Nov 7, 2018.

Tags:
  1. B81

B81 Well-Known Member

Aug 12, 2018
    FWIW, Garand Thumb recently did a review of the Nighthawk Enforcer.

Like most YouTube gun videos, it opens with a minute or two of gratuitous vignettes of him shooting the gun with fast/action themed background music. Then he enumerates the features of the gun.

He basically concludes that the 1911's like the Nighthawk are excellent pistols and are very reliable. However, he doesn't recommend them for duty use because of limited capacity and increased weight relative to a Glock 19/17. He characterized them more as guns for competition and recreation.

I'm not a professional, so I won't weigh in on his comments regarding duty use. But I am curious to know what some of you have to say about it.

boatdoc, xerts1191 and Kip like this.
  2. Kip

Kip Sir Kip Esquire

Apr 12, 2016
    I trust MY 1911.
    Nuff said.

3. sidewaysil80

sidewaysil80 Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Jan 29, 2014
    He is (not a fan) 100% right.

For a duty gun the limited capacity, weight, and the complicated maintenance/repair aspect make tupperware guns far more viable for le/mass issue. Not to mention it take an afternoon to become a certfied factory armory on tupperwares so it’s logistically easier in that regard too.

AJP likes this.
  4. B81

B81 Well-Known Member

Aug 12, 2018
    I can definitely see logistical issues of outfitting an army or large police force with high-end 1911's. But, for small elite teams, the logistical issues are perhaps less of an issue?

If capacity is the only real issue, why not 2011's or other double stack "1911's"? You get the benefits of the 1911-like trigger and the capacity of a Glock.

boatdoc, Stogies and Kip like this.
  5. tarosean

tarosean Well-Known Member

Apr 7, 2013

Is he? Not familiar at all with him.. Halloween was last week not sure why he is still playing dress up.. :p