Noob here, looking to get into reloading.

Discussion in 'Caliber Talk: Ammunition, Reloading, and Shooting ' started by ThePhotog, Dec 25, 2011.

1. ThePhotog

ThePhotog Previously Tractus Arms

Dec 7, 2011
    Hey guys! Haven't been here long, but let me start off by saying this is my favorite 1911 forum by far! Anyways, have a few too many 1911's and shoot quite a bit, so I figured I would get some advice about reloading. I know nothing about it, and mechanically inept, so how hard is it to get the hang of things? And is there a reloader out there that is more user friendly?

This is the one I was looking at (mainly because I'd rather get more rounds out in a hour than less, hopefully the learning curve isnt that bad):
    http://www.dillonprecision.com/#/content/p/9/catid/1/pid/23877/Super_1050

I will be reloading 9mm, .45acp, and .50gi

Thanks all and forgive my ignorance!

2. John Ryder

John Ryder Well-Known Member

Aug 19, 2011
    When you say you shoot quite a bit, how many rounds does that equal? I've gotten by with a 550 and load close to 20,000 rounds a year. A 650 is tempting but has a few drawbacks for me.

I'm not sure how much of a PITA swapping calibers on a 1050 is so I'd really search for that answer. A great site for reloading info is - http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?act=idx

3. limbkiller

limbkiller Pulling my hair. Supporting Addict

Aug 18, 2011
    What did I tell ya my friend?

4. ThePhotog

Dec 7, 2011
    Right you were! Thanks!

John,

I probably will only shoot 8000 a year, so maybe I should stick with the 550, how has that one worked for you? Easy to use?

5. Dwe

Dwe I'm a terminal 1911 Addict!

Sep 4, 2011
    If proper set up is done, you can load between 4 and 5 hundred rounds in an hour with a Dillon RL550B, and your cal change out will be quicker and cheeper than a 1050.
    But if you want auto indexing get the 650 or 1050.

6. John Ryder

Aug 19, 2011