NRA Pistol Instructor Class-Opinions

Discussion in 'Training' started by paid4c4, Mar 7, 2012.

1. paid4c4

paid4c4 Supporting Addict Supporting Addict

Sep 26, 2011
    I'm thinking about enrolling in an NRA pistol Instructor Class, just wondered if anyone had take the class and what opinions might be pro or con.
    Bill

2. Mt Airy

Mt Airy New Member

Feb 10, 2012
    me to I have been wanting to take the same class.

3. Bugs

Bugs Well-Known Member

Oct 19, 2011
    What do you plan on doing with the certification??? I also looked at this and then saw the vast number of NRA certified instructors out there. For me I want to make $$$ with any cert I obtain. For example I used to be a Scuba instructor, ran my own business in Guam and made a lot of money from that certification. Ditto for my Captains License; ran a light tackle & fly fishing charter business for over 2 decades in Guam, Newport RI, and Boca Grande Florida. The price of admission more than paid for itself. My point is that my impression for an NRA Instructor certification is that there would be a limited availability to teach and make money with it unless you could affiliate yourself with a gun shop or range. I would do my homework before giving any more dough to the NRA. NRA most likely = continuous renewal fees; they are very good at sucking $$ out of people.

4. CanIhaveGasCash

CanIhaveGasCash Member

Sep 11, 2011
    Given the prices that I saw and the curriculum, I would not say that it is worth it. The courses that I saw were only 2 days. I don't know someone could be certified as an instructor for both semi auto and revolvers in only 2 days. I was also told that the NRA requires you to re-certify every 3 years, thereby costing you more money. Then again some people seem to think that NRA approval is the holy grail.