OK, so what makes you a 1911 ADDICT?

Discussion in 'General 1911 talk' started by 45Driver, Oct 28, 2011.

1. 45Driver

45Driver Throbbing Member.

Sep 24, 2011
    The short version of my story is that I've been owning and shooting them since 1987. Started with a Llama .45 and then found a nice Nastoff built Series 70 Government Model at my local gunshop.

I recognized the name since I was a magazine educated pistol guy. This was my first look at a Videcki Speed Trigger and I thought it was cool as hell! I started to view them like how a nice set of Cragar SS wheels on any old car makes it look racy and custom.:grin:

I read every issue of AMERICAN HANDGUNNER magazine (before the new editor, now only on a sometime basis- I miss Hopkins) and any other that had articles about 1911s.

I even once had a vivid dream about owning a gunshop and I had the glass cases loaded with all types of stainless steel, blued, hardchromed and two-toned compensated customs.

Eventually over the years I have been fortunate to own many different guns like those that starred in my dream but there are still a few that I'd like to try out.

My safe contains several really nice 1911s and I am always scheming about how I'll procure the next one or which top 'smith will build my next awesome blaster.

I have to mention that my pistols have all been used for fun shooting at leisure, I'll be getting to the serious side of owning and carrying a pistol for protection because I'll have my CCW license in about month, as it has recently been made legal in my state.

So the question is... why do you consider yourself a true 1911 addict?

Last edited: Oct 28, 2011
  2. Blayglock

Blayglock Supporting Addict Supporting Addict

Aug 18, 2011
    The fact that they single handedly stormed the beach of Normandy! ....

Actually the main reason I like them is that to me it is the easiest gun to place a very accurate shot under stress. Thats about 90% of it. The other 10% is aesthetics.

3. polizei1