Okay, Need some addicts help on a Marlin 1895

Discussion in 'General 1911 talk' started by Karsten, Nov 8, 2018.

1. Karsten

Karsten Well-Known Member

Feb 19, 2013
    Some I have an offer on my 1st Gen SA TRP Operator in near mint condition for a trade for a Marlin 1895 XLR JM Marked 45-70 Guide Gun I have no use for. I just learned JM Marked guns from before Marlin was bought out are sought after or so the internet says.....

What do you all think....JM Marked Guide Gun in 45-70 with 15 rounds for a lightly used 100 rounds maybe SA TRP Operator.

Thanks for any input and I did check my old Marlin 1895 .357 Mag in also pre what ever and JM Marked and never been fired.

Karsten

Last edited: Nov 8, 2018
    wcanterbury and gps man like this.
  2. idHawk

idHawk Member

Oct 29, 2018
    I'm not a Marlin expert, but I have done some research on the subject. Seems to me the TRP Operator still has a slightly higher resell value on the used market at this time. 10 years from now? The Marlin would most likely win out. Just my .02

wcanterbury likes this.

3. Fred_G

Fred_G Well-Known Member

Dec 29, 2015
    Well, I traded a JM marked Marlin 45/70 and a bit of cash for a double barrel shotgun a couple of years ago. As of a month or so ago, my Marlin was still on the used rack at the gun store...

I had no use for the Marlin, but had a use for the shotgun...

Yours would be a good trade to me, but it is your guns.

wcanterbury and Blue Ridge like this.
  4. Mike0251

Mike0251 Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Mar 25, 2016
    Sold 2 in .444 JM marked in the local trade rag for $700 each. Had many calls for them too.

wcanterbury likes this.
  5. SparkyAZ

SparkyAZ It is a dry heat, right... Supporting Addict

Sep 11, 2012
    In the Great State of Arizona, your TRP Operator $1100-$1200, the Marlin $700-$800.

6. Stromburg

Stromburg Well-Known Member

Nov 6, 2015
    Karsten