Oklahoma Gov. Signed "Constitutional Carry" Law Today-Effective Nov. 1

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by Chuck73080, Feb 28, 2019.

1. Chuck73080

Chuck73080 1911 addict Supporting Addict

Jan 28, 2019
    I am a firm believer in the the right to bear arms, however I felt a little bit safer knowing that SDA Act licence holders here had to at least take the mandatory class, exhibit some weapon proficiency, be fingerprinted and pass state/federal background checks.

I take my responsibility very seriously, I've been shooting for 57 years and practice with my EDC guns on a regular basis.

Unfortunately over that time, I have witnessed many inexperienced and/or reckless shooters struggle with the basic principles of safe gun handling. I've also read many accounts of fools letting anger and poor judgement precipitate tragic results.

I hope that I am wrong, I hope that citizens who exercise their right to bear arms are cognizant of the responsibility they are assuming.

isialk and xerts1191 like this.
  2. Raylan Givens

Raylan Givens Never Forget

Aug 18, 2015
    The problem is when those proficiency requirements, mandatory classes, and state and federal background checks become so extensive and so expensive they are impossible to obtain. Much like the Kobayashi Maru. Leaning to the side of less, limited, or no government has been proven time and time again to be the more viable option.

3. Chuck73080

Jan 28, 2019
    I wonder how a one time class fee of $50 and a 5 year $100 licence is too expensive to carry a concealed weapon. That works out to $30/yr, if you can't afford that then you can't afford the ammunition to practice and if you're not going to practice then you have no business carrying a weapon.

I'm not talking about a gun at home, I'm talking about carrying a loaded concealed weapon in public.