Perceived recoil

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by Tarpon Hunter, Oct 3, 2018.

1. Tarpon Hunter

Tarpon Hunter Well-Known Member

May 29, 2018
    I'm relatively new to the mechanics and workings of 1911's.I have a Les Baer Custom Carry SS Comanche and it is balls on accurate. The grips and checkering on it give me a more solid grip than other 1911's I have and is very still comfortable. I also have a Springfield RO Elite Champion. It has a 4" barrel instead of 4 1/4", weighs 30 oz. vs the LB that weighs 36. Yet the Springfield seems to have less recoil. Is that in my head or is it a function of a dual spring in the Springfield vs a single spring in the LB?

2. gun_fan111

gun_fan111 Well-Known Member

Mar 23, 2014
    Bull barrels make a difference

3. 605atthe wheels

605atthe wheels In the staging lanes Supporting Addict

Oct 19, 2012
    I believe Bull Barrels make a difference also. 3.5" DW 9mm ECO, 4" EDCX9, & 4" WC XTAC ELITE Compact shoot as soft or softer than any of my 5" 9mm bushing guns. (Also 147gr fmj for the win). YMMV,

George

4. dakota1911

dakota1911 Well-Known Member

Feb 19, 2015
    When I was a kid an old gunsmith called pistols a "dance of the springs" Leaving this thread I could go to Ruger Blackhawk SA revolvers. One has similar weights, grips, etc. Below in 9mm/357 and 10mm/40S&W. I also have them in 45Colt/45ACP.

[​IMG]

At this point one can get an idea of different recoil between the rounds. With a 1911 one thinks again about the weight of the hand guns and about the recoil spring, the main (hammer) spring and I would not forget about the firing pin spring for reliable functioning. After the spring there is the bottom of the firing pin stop. Here is a pre 80 Series Colt Commander apart.

[​IMG]