Photos of My First 1911 Build

Discussion in '1911 Gunsmithing' started by paid4c4, Jan 20, 2012.

1. paid4c4

paid4c4 Supporting Addict Supporting Addict

Sep 26, 2011
    I appreciate all of those who have followed my first 1911 build with their comments, suggestions and torments. It has taken some time and I've had a few set backs:frusty:. I have learned a lot about 1911's and how they work. I don't claim to be a pistol smith:hail: or 1911 expert, I can however take one apart replace parts and put it back together. I've learned to fit; barrel bushings, slide to frame, grip safety, trigger, slide lock and barrel. I would like to learn more and build another 1911 but I need more tools to go to the next level. This is my first build and was built on a Wilson Combat frame/slide and I used mostly Wilson Combat Bullet Proof parts with a Nowlin Speed Demon ignition system. I shot it today after a final tune up. I put 100 rounds through it with no hiccups, no problems at all. I found it to be smooth and accurate (accurate for me). All in all I'm very happy with the outcome and a little proud in there also. The pictures I'm posting will be the before pictures as it now goes for engraving and then to be finished. Two points I would like to make;1st-if you're in a hurry don't try to build your own 1911 go buy one already built, 2nd-If you want to build one thinking you're going to save money go buy one already built. I will be glad to see questions, comments and criticism.
    Regards;
    Bill:grin:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
  2. knedrgr

knedrgr Low capacity, low tech...

Aug 15, 2011
    Well, you're on your way. Congrats.