1911 Firearm Addicts banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys I'm looking to gain knowledge and experience here. I have a Springfield Armory MC operator in 45 that has a point of impact of 10" high at 25 yds. It is not the shooter for I test loads for different pistols at this distance regularly. The 1911 has less than 200 rounds through it. I assume it is barrel lockup but could be wrong. I could take the easy route and send it in but I'm feel like I would be missing a good opportunity. Could someone give me a checklist of measurements or in general of what to look for. I am a machinist by trade so I am accustomed to this type of work. Thanks

·
Turgid member
579 Posts
Look at some of the sight makers web sights for tutorials.
Novak Sights and Dawson for example.

·
Registered
3,337 Posts
I assume it is barrel lockup but could be wrong.
Mark welcome aboard. I'm not sure why you would assume barrel lockup over incorrect front sight height. IMHO if the gun will hold 1.5" at 25 yards the barrel lockup is most likely fine. I personally wouldn't make any changes until the gun had 1000 rounds thru it but the front sight would be my first choice.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Mark welcome aboard. I'm not sure why you would assume barrel lockup over incorrect front sight height. IMHO if the gun will hold 1.5" at 25 yards the barrel lockup is most likely fine. I personally wouldn't make any changes until the gun had 1000 rounds thru it but the front sight would be my first choice.
Well I have Springfields shipping label in hand but hesitated to send it in. My knowledge of the1911 is very limited and that is why i am here. Your advice is taken on breaking this in and going from there, and thanks for rhe welcome! And thanks to to everyone for their reply.

·
NRA Endowment member
3,171 Posts