Problem Changing Grips

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by BCD 45, May 2, 2019.

1. BCD 45

BCD 45 Well-Known Member

Feb 13, 2019
    Yes, I'm a newbie dummy regarding 1911's. I've changed grips on several DW's without a problem but I have one with my NH. The NH Krestel says it comes with "ultra-thin alumagrips". I tried putting on a standard thickness set and it fit and worked but my screws were buried way down in the grips, almost so that you couldn't see them. Is the fix for new grip bushings?

A month or so ago, I bought $300+ of Challis bushings, screws, o-rings, drivers, and both bushing tools just to have on hand for when I needed them. Could someone please tell me what's wrong & how to fix it? I might as well ask, when installing bushings, do you need to use lok-tite? Thank you,

Jim D

2. azguy1911

azguy1911 I'm done buying guns, I'm just a bystander now

Oct 22, 2015
    Longer screws for one, but you should replace the bushings as well so there's more bushing into the grip hole for better security than just a 1/16th or 1/8th of an inch as it is currently.

Novak77 and WC145 like this.

3. Bloodhound

Bloodhound Well-Known Member

Apr 12, 2018
    Sounds like you need to swap the bushings out for standard thickness. As for the thread locker, I use a drop of blue loctite on mine whenever replacing bushings. Hope this helps, and good luck!

ZoidMeister likes this.
  4. ZoidMeister

ZoidMeister Consider my signature line before replying . . . .

Dec 4, 2014
    I have had good results keeping screws from backing out (if you have that problem) by using #60 O-rings. You can buy a pack of 10 of them at Home Depot in the plumbing section for about $3, last I checked.