Project 10mm

Discussion in '1911 Gunsmithing' started by gravygrabber, Dec 9, 2018.

1. gravygrabber

gravygrabber New Member

Dec 9, 2018
    Hi, new guy here to the forum. Anyway wanted to build a 1911 for awhile. Mechanic by trade, no shortage of tools or mechanical ability or anything. Was going to get an older frame like an AMT/Detonics or something and slowly build up something. Then I was looking at a 1911 builder/Fusion kit. Saw this pistol at a gun show. Looked like someones abandoned project.

It's a Caspian slide, Ultimatch .400 barrel, JPE frame. Ported/slide cuts, looks like a reverse crowned barrel. Has a bushing. Has a combat hammer and beaver tail. After doing some research looks like JPE just imported frames from who knows where and gov. mags don't fit which is what's going on with mine. They "fit" but stick out the bottom.
    It won't chamber a 10mm round. Gets stuck like halfway. Hmmm. Plenty of black crud in the barrel I thought for sure it's been shot and I had a functional gun. Guess not :(

Wondering what I should do first. I'm thinking maybe the barrel wasn't reamed yet? I could buy the tools and ream it to 10MM? I don't think it's .400 Corbon since that uses a .45 ACP for it's parent case...

IMG-3911.JPG IMG-3911.JPG IMG-3917.JPG IMG-3912.JPG IMG-3926.JPG

KS95B40 likes this.
  2. Wheels No More

Wheels No More Long gone

May 12, 2015
    Welcome to the forum....
    53261ca0beb89434633982977157328b.gif

Mike Meints, Capthobo and ZoidMeister like this.

3. gravygrabber

gravygrabber New Member

Dec 9, 2018
    WHEELS likes this.
  4. BenchMonkey

BenchMonkey Angry Infidel

Nov 28, 2018
    Welcome,

Just for shots and giggles do you have a .40 s&w kicking around?

5. gravygrabber

gravygrabber New Member

Dec 9, 2018
    Ya, tried it too. Won't go in fully. A little discouraging but I guess I'll learn. Hope I didn't get too screwed.

6. ZoidMeister

ZoidMeister Consider my signature line before replying . . . .

Dec 4, 2014