1911 Firearm Addicts banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
684 Posts
I like 'em on a AR but not a handgun?

I was shooting my M&P M2.0 9mm today and then I started shooting terrible. I thought, what in the heck is goin on. I soon discovered the issue. One of my mounting screws had fallen out and the other one was loose. The gun came with a bunch of plates and screws already loaded with blue Loctite. I think I had removed and reinstalled them at some point for some reason if I remember correctly. That's why they backed out.

So, I just ended up removing the optic and I enjoyed shooting it more without. I've never cared for the co-witness tall sights while looking through the optic. I believe this may be my issue. My AR's with red dots have no iron sights and I like it that way. The sights on this gun and another one in 10mm I sold have the same tall sights and I don't like them with a red dot.

Anyone else have this issue besides me?
Unless you properly torqued the screws, this is user error and no fault of the system. Its not really any different than installing a rear iron sight without the required set screw in place.

Granted many of the factory RDS mounting systems (MOS/CORE) aren’t the best because they’re catering towards many different sights, but if installed correctly, most will work pretty well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
684 Posts
Three white dots...the Toyota Camry of sights. They may be old and ordinary, but they work every day, every time. I've won a number of our monthly defensive pistols matches shooting these sights against a few red dots. It's all about what you like and what works best for YOU.

Assuming you have an open mind to try other things and know what works best for you. If you just went with the first thing given to you, making it work is not the same as finding what works best for you.

·
Registered
684 Posts
Do you use all black sights on your guns without dots?