1911 Firearm Addicts banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Freedom Is Not Free
6,960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I like 'em on a AR but not a handgun?

I was shooting my M&P M2.0 9mm today and then I started shooting terrible. I thought, what in the heck is goin on. I soon discovered the issue. One of my mounting screws had fallen out and the other one was loose. The gun came with a bunch of plates and screws already loaded with blue Loctite. I think I had removed and reinstalled them at some point for some reason if I remember correctly. That's why they backed out.

So, I just ended up removing the optic and I enjoyed shooting it more without. I've never cared for the co-witness tall sights while looking through the optic. I believe this may be my issue. My AR's with red dots have no iron sights and I like it that way. The sights on this gun and another one in 10mm I sold have the same tall sights and I don't like them with a red dot.

Anyone else have this issue besides me?

·
Freedom Is Not Free
6,960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Another thing is over the years I have spent a great deal of time learning to shoot with both eyes open, point and shoot. Each handgun I've owned has been a little different of course. Some a little more difficult to get in the grove and some very easy. My P365 is very easy to shoot with both eyes open point and shoot. Same with most every 1911.

I think me learning to shoot like this has something to do with it some too. But that's one of the things I really like about a red dot. Easy to see the dot and shoot with both eyes open. But it does dance around while shooting fast and that I'm not so fond of.

Reactions: OneEyedTanker

·
Freedom Is Not Free
6,960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
There is a learning curve……once you get it, they are awesome.

I remember the early days of rifle red dots. They weren’t easily received
Maybe you are right. Most likely if I get the correct setup for me it would be more enjoyable and with good results.