1911 Firearm Addicts banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Laos, hard traveling
203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just beginning to reload. I care for my 95 yo mother in her home so the space I use inside the house is minimal but sufficient. I want to begin reloading, I shoot almost 1000 9mm/month and save the brass. Lord, I've got a ton of empty one shot brass.

My garage is virtually empty and would be perfect for reloading. The trouble is there is not heat in there and in the Philly area, it can get pretty chilly. I'm not going to reload when it's below 40F, but let's say "MY RELOADING" temperatures vary between 40 and 85 degrees.

Metal expands, contracts. Within this temperature parameter will I have to be making adjustments say for crimping or otherwise? Factory cartridges certainly can withstand those variations and a lot more but I'm thinking on the assembling side.

Your thoughts? Thank you!

·
Banned
3,636 Posts
Metal expands, contracts. Within this temperature parameter will I have to be making adjustments say for crimping or otherwise?
Between 40 & 85 degrees not a problem.
Brass seems to have a really wide range of temps it can be used in.

Have you thought about the reloading equipment you will use?

·
Laos, hard traveling
203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
There is a fairly local gun dealer/smith and reloader. They give a 4 hour course using the Dillon 550. He broke it down completely and we two students reassembled the thing. Then we esch ran about a dozen cartridges each. Prior to moving to PA to care for my mom, I lived about 1/4 mile from the Dillon factory in Scottsdale, AZ so I guess Id get the 550. (It may be a 550B) I'm too lazy to look it up. Just came back from shootin' another 150 rounds and want a cold one.

·
Registered
1,231 Posts