1911 Firearm Addicts banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Banned
1,853 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want a good optic for my Springer/Wilson 1911 Target. I'm new to the optic seen and I don't want to waste my $$$ on Chinese stuff(Holosun). Torn between the two Trijicon. A lot of $$$. Chime in on your experience's and maybe save me some pain. Thanks.

·
Registered
6,036 Posts
I want a good optic for my Springer/Wilson 1911 Target. I'm new to the optic seen and I don't want to waste my $$$ on Chinese stuff(Holosun). Torn between the two Trijicon. A lot of $$$. Chime in on your experience's and maybe save me some pain. Thanks.
Target use only SRO. Range and Carry RMR.

·
Premium Member
355 Posts
haven't had the SRO (yet) but I like the window size- there are threads on other forums stating that Trijicon reccomend the SRO as a competition optic, not a duty/hard use optic, which would be the RMR, so that'd be up to you to decide given how you use your guns.
I've had 2 RMRs, and a couple of the earlier LM03 red dots. (I have one of the LM03s left as it's piggy backing my ACOG and I'm probably going to sell the whole thing at some near point)- Anyway, I didn't like the tint, the window size or the appearance of the dot on the RMRs, I have astigmatism and the RMRs seemed to be the worst of the red dots for my particular eyes. Your eyes, obviously different.
I am, and this is not what you're looking for I know, switching to Holosun because a) price, b) the dot in a circle reticle appears much more clear and defined to my eyes than any other dot I've tried, c) battery life and finally d) very well built.
If you don't want to buy chinese because it's chinese, fair enough, but it is a solid product. I'm guessing that most options- Burris, Vortex etc are also chinese.

·
Registered
780 Posts
Other than country of origin, the Holosun is outstanding, it's easily as good or better as an RMR, and I like my RMRs.

·
Banned
1,853 Posts
Discussion Starter #6