Seeking info: Colt 7790314 slides/7791193 barrels

Discussion in '1911 Gunsmithing' started by JMYoung, Dec 28, 2011.

1. JMYoung

JMYoung New Member

Nov 13, 2011
    Ladies and Gents: I've decided to build a 1911. I have no gunsmithing experience and no machining experience. Hell, the last time I picked up a file was in my 8th grade shop class (19-ish years ago). Despite these minor shortcomings, I feel supremely confident that I will either succeed, or spend a lot more time and money succeeding than I intend. (Either way, I shall take pics and post them regardless of the outcome.)

Now to the point. I've attempted to do some research on Colt slides marked "7790341". The bit I've found all seems to be copy/paste from one source document and very general in nature. I would not consider the info to be highly reliable (due to my own ignorance of such things). Does anyone here have any first hand experience with these slides?

I have considered the option of buying the slide and frame from Caspian, Remsport or another such company, and I am highly confident that such components would make this much easier for me. However, I'm not looking for easy. I'm looking for a project that I can point to and say "I built that! It was a b!tch, but I built that".

Additionally, any information on barrels marked "7791193" would be greatly appreciated.

2. Jim S.

Jim S. Evil Capt. Kirk from G.T.

Aug 25, 2011
    I googled the numbers and most of the info was vague and seemed to point to military contract Colt parts.
    Ok, so where would you get them and what difference does it make compared to a normal marketed Colt slide and frame?
    As long as the slide and frame are forged they will make a good project gun.
    If you have your heart set on Colt parts then fine.
    If you've never worked on a 1911 before then perhaps you could buy a Colt and take it apart and refit better quality parts to it as you would want it to be.