Simple Question.. looking for simple answer.

Discussion in 'Caliber Talk: Ammunition, Reloading, and Shooting ' started by TheCollector, Apr 25, 2019.

1. TheCollector

TheCollector Well-Known Member

Aug 25, 2018
    I'm new to reloading and one of my quests is to make a softer shoot for Mrs. Collector as she goes up in caliber.
    Here's my question in the simplest of words. Given that the powder is equal, does a lighter grain bullet (ie. 115 gr.) shoot softer (less perceived recoil) than a heavier bullet (ie. 147gr)yes? No? no difference?

2. RSCamaro

RSCamaro Well-Known Member

Sep 19, 2017
    The heavier bullet will have a perceived softer recoil or flip. The heavier round tends to push more strait to the rear instead of flipping up.

...Ron

3. Mike0251

Mike0251 Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Mar 25, 2016
    The powder charge would not be equal for 115 vs 147. The heavier bullet sits farther into the case therefore requiring less powder. However I would tend to agree with the above statement on recoil with a heavier bullet.
    Use reliable reload data from the manufacturer and they show the min and max loads most of the time. The min loads will all be powder puffs.
    For example from Alliant's reloading book:

115-gr Speer GDHP Power Pistol CCI 500 Speer 1.125 6.7 1212

147-gr Speer GDHP Power Pistol CCI 500 Speer 1.130 5.0 975

gaijin, RSCamaro, xerts1191 and 2 others like this.
  4. Novak77

Novak77 Well-Known Member

Mar 1, 2019
    I'm sure someone who is way more knowledgable than myself will chime in, but I asked a similar question to a friend who's into IDPA and this was his answer.

1- Bigger = slower / less recoil / slower follow up shots

2- Smaller = faster / more recoil / quicker follow up shots

3- Some kind of sweet spot = perfect lol

I can't remember his exact logic behind the more recoil / faster follow up shots thing lol.