close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Slide stop issues.

Discussion in '1911 Gunsmithing' started by CanIhaveGasCash, Sep 22, 2011.

1. CanIhaveGasCash

CanIhaveGasCash Member

Sep 11, 2011
    I have two springfield TRP's and I have been using Wilson ETM magazines with one of them for two years without any issues. My newest TRP will not lock back with an empty magazine. It will only lock back using a factory magazine.

I have an ETM with the Tripp Super 7 upgrade kit and it will only push the slide stop up about 3/4 of way and does not get very good engagement with the slide. I'm wondering if this is an issue that can be remedied with a different slide stop fitted by a gunsmith, or if I am stuck using factory magazines. I have tried putting a stock follower in an ETM and that seems to solve the issue, however I'm not sure how reliable it will be.

Wilson ETM
    [​IMG]

Super 7 Upgrade Kit
    [​IMG]

Factory
    [​IMG]

2. Lordofbarbeque

Lordofbarbeque New Member

Sep 21, 2011
    This is a long shot, but look to see if the ETM mag rubber is hitting bottom of front strap relief area on new TRP. I had this happen on 1911 where front strap relief was just enough to let the mag catch but the ETM rubber was pushing up against front strap making me think it was the slide stop. I ended up increasing the front strap depth in mag opening and solved problem.

3. knedrgr

knedrgr Low capacity, low tech...

Aug 15, 2011
    I agree to take a look at what LOBQ is suggesting.

4. claire

claire Anger Management Graduate

Sep 22, 2011
    If you've been using the mags for two years, you may also consider the mag springs. Just a thought.

claire

5. CanIhaveGasCash

CanIhaveGasCash Member

Sep 11, 2011
    I should have mentioned that I have a new set of ETM's and they all have the same issue. Good thought on the base pad, I'll check it out.

6. Lordofbarbeque

Lordofbarbeque New Member

Sep 21, 2011