1911 Firearm Addicts banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the 1911 world and purchased a DW Pointman 45 a couple of months ago and just love it. But as any new addict I want to buy a second 1911. I am a range guy and intend on maybe doing some mods to this newest 1911.

I have been looking for a used one but prices are pretty strong on used guys and i am able to spend a little more on a new one. So its come down to a SS SA RO or a Sig Target. Price wise the Sig is only $50 more. My budget is around $800. I have handled them both side by side and am leaning towards the SA RO but the Sig really has some nice feature.

Any advise or wisdom would be welcome.

·
Registered
1,741 Posts
I own several of both Sig 1911's and SA's , RO's, Targets and TRP's
Wouldn't spend the money on a TRP again but that's me, lots of guys love the things.

Like most about the Sig's is the checkered front strap. And those silly little safeties work great for me with my XXL hands. Easy to swipe off and stay out of the way when shooting. Yeah I know they're MIM but never had any problems with those safeties so I like them.

Both Sigs and SA 1911 seem to run out of the box, a few of the SA's needed some extractor tuning. Sigs external extractor is a turn off for some but I'm only a purist with the guns for the collection and carrying. The range and Competition guns I could care less.

All the above FWIW! Good hunting for your perfect 1911!
The addiction begins!

Reactions: Mike0707

·
Registered
1,135 Posts
I see one possible problem. You started with a Dan Wesson. Now a Springfield or Sig will not feel as nice, because they’re not. Do you want another .45? Your PM.45 is an excellent range gun with adjustable sights and great front strap checkering. You should get something different.