Springfield Armory Springfield TRP goes back to the Mothership...

Discussion in 'General 1911 talk' started by Bloodhound, May 24, 2019.

1. Bloodhound

Bloodhound Well-Known Member

Apr 12, 2018
    I own many Springfield products, and have been extremely satisfied with them all, especially Springfield's 1911 handguns! My TRP is having a few issues though, so this is the very first time I've ever returned ANY Springfield 1911 back, so hopefully it goes well.

I have heard fantastic things about repairs, and Customer Service experiences from several fellow forum members. Of course there are some negative reviews as well, so here's hoping it turns out well.
    Most of this is directly from the notes I sent to Springfield describing the issues I'm having with this particular pistol, I'm no pro but I did the best I could to describe everything.

After a brief conversation with Springfields Customer Service, I had an RMA label sent to me via email, and shipped it off the following day via FedEx 2nd Day Air.

This segment is from my notes.
    (-The issues...)
    1) After firing, cleaning, and reassembling the TRP I preformed a safety check, and that's when I noticed that when the hammer is cocked, it seems to depress the beaver tail, on the grip safety just enough to allow the trigger to be pulled, and the hammer drops. I am not a gunsmith by any means, but that doesn't seem like a properly functioning grip safety.
    -(Saftey & Function is my PRIMARY concern.)

2) For whatever reason, my TRP is showing signs of "peening" or damage being done around the takedown notch, and slide stop notch, and slide. I do not know what would be causing this?
    -(Poorly fit slide stop?)